Musing Monday: November 6, 2017

monday

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme, hosted by Ambrosia at The Purple Booker, that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ____, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What do you think of ghostwriters??


I blogged about ____ this past week…

It wasn’t my greatest week, blogging-wise. I just didn’t really have the energy to do much of anything. I did get some books read though, so I’m not going to beat myself up over it.

  • Tuesday, October 31 – I finally got myself to finish Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan and I posted a rating for it. I didn’t wind up reviewing it though, there just wasn’t much to say at all. It was kind of a disappointment compared to the rest of the series…
  • Wednesday, November 1 – I put out my Monthly Reading Wrap-Up (Part 1 & Part 2) and I think overall October was a pretty good month. I managed 13 books (plus part of a 14th)! This is the last month I’ll have to do two-parter Wrap-Ups. I was doing it because I like to tag each individual title and author, but that usually means it’s got too many tags to show up in the reader. Luckily my lovely husband helped me come up with a solution that lets me tag everything, but still put all the books in one long post. From now on I’ll be doing a book list style Reading Wrap-Up like the ones I’ve been doing, but adding a separate post where I talk about the month more generally and about my blogging, and just link from there to the book list, and this post would show up in the reader because it would have very few tags.
  • Friday, November 3First Lines Fridays went up as always, mostly because I schedule those ahead of time, and then because I gave into the urge to reread Suzanne Collins’ Underland Chronicles I managed to get a Friday 56 up as well. As was pointed out, this week’s line was even more random than usual! Haha!
  • Saturday, November 4 – I finished Gregor the Overlander and as always there was a rating post. I also posted a quote that tickled me from the very first page.
  • Sunday, November 5 – I invented a Chai Mocha for my Tomes & Tea bookstagram and read pretty quickly all the way through Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (rating post) and shared a quote from it that fits my life perfectly, especially this time of the year.

What do you think of ghostwriters??
I guess on the one hand I think it’s a good system. That is, there are some who have a story to tell, but aren’t skilled writers, and I know they hire people to help them write their stories. And often those wind up published under only the name of the person whose story it was to begin with. So in that instance I don’t mind it at all.

But then I think of the times when some author or other takes credit for work they didn’t even put the slightest effort into. And then it just annoys me.

Maybe if I knew more about the ways it was all done I might have a more definite opinion, but for now I just have a sort of wishy-washy “eeehhhhh” sort of opinion about it I suppose.

Leave a comment